1302

Ooh this bed’s hard, this bed’s soft, this porridge’s hot,
this porridge’s cold—well aren’t you a prissy little prima-
donna, presbyterian princess, egomaniac; eat your
porridge and go to sleep you big baby, I’m not your
domestic, gourmet cook, or mattress maker, and I
don’t care how lukewarm your bathwater is; I’ve
got my own demons, like multiple sclerosis, you
and your sensitivities; I should backhand you in the
face; Miss Perfection; besides I know you’re hymen-
less beneath that gingham dress, and shooting crack
at Cinderella’s, so don’t give me that crap about
scratchy blankets or dilapidated chairs; I’m kick-
ing butt for you at The Crackerjack for lousy tips
and you’re Miss Fuantleroy of Barracuda Street;
well, this is chez Sprats, Mother Hubbard, and you’
re, young lady, getting your ass to school, then
college, then I don’t give a rat’s what you do, I’
ll be dead to the nub, and damned if I’ll see my
only girl knocked up, drugged out, panhandling,
& conning idiots six months from now on Vul-
ture Boulevard. Give us this day, yea though I
walk, rock and my redeemer, pray you boob, hum-
ble your head in this Babylonia, this abattoir of
unforgiving deadliness, shame your butterfly ass-
tattoo with vinegar, rise through Baptismal water
new, imprinted with The Fear you postpubescent
carnal caricature, God eats fools like pinenuts.
Sweetie, Cleopatra of the Floridian blaze, leggy
topless beach-nude, Mama demands her strands
strip into you, the creole palms of her Pontche-
train hands, her cream of wheat soothe, her dou-
ble strip of pearls fusing one-by-one, like swal-
lowed light bulbs, Baby please, Mama’s poured
amber maple into you, and molasses, and cane;
I offer you Thessalonians, quartz agate, scarab
mayonnaise, sorrow portraits, Sophie Mae’s
Chiang Mai bamboo fan, boa constrictor slippers,
and Grandpa Pompadou’s molars-into-dice;
Abide by the rat’s tooth of family talismans, child;
stallion of youth’s no match for their sobriety;
clasp and see, oh darling, clasp and see; your al-
ready melting bones fill bowls with golden broth.

Gordon Massman splits his time between Medford, Massachusetts, and Frenchboro, Maine, an island off the coast. Gordon Massman: The Essential Numbers, 1991-2008 was published in 2009 by Tarpaulin Sky Press.

To view other poems published in this issue please visit Vallum’s website.

Vallum magazine is also available in digital format. Featuring additional content such as: AUDIO and VIDEO recordings of selected poets, further poems, interviews, essays, and MORE!

Download the FREE APP and FREE SAMPLE EDITION for your tablet, kindle or smartphone through PocketMags OR iTunes.

 

